Press Release

April 16 2019

POV Wins 2 Peabody Awards

The Apology and Minding the Gap Named Winners in the Documentary Category

New York, N.Y.April 16, 2019 — Today the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication named POV films The Apology and Minding the Gap as winners in the 78th Annual Peabody Awards; POV's QUEST, Whose Streets?, and Survivors were also nominated last week. The award for Minding the Gap was shared between POV, Kartemquin, Hulu and ITVS. The winners will be celebrated on Saturday, May 18 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York.

This is the sixth year in a row POV has taken home a Peabody. POV now has 23 Peabody Awards to date.

Learn more about the POV and AMERICA REFRAMED winners below. For a complete list of all Peabody Award winners, visit

About The Apology by Tiffany Hsiung:

The Apology follows three former “comfort women” who were among the 200,000 girls and young women kidnapped and forced into military sexual slavery by the Imperial Japanese Army during World War II. Seventy years after their imprisonment and after decades of living in silence and shame, the survivors give their first-hand accounts of the truth for the record, seeking apology and the hope that this horrific chapter of history not be forgotten.

About Minding the Gapby Bing Liu

Bing Liu's debut film is a coming-of-age saga of three skateboarding friends in their Rust Belt hometown. In his quest to understand why he and his friends all ran away from home when they were younger, Bing follows 23-year-old Zack as he becomes a father and 17-year-old Keire as he gets his first job. While navigating a complex relationship between his camera and his friends, Bing explores the gap between fathers and sons, between discipline and domestic abuse and ultimately that precarious chasm between childhood and becoming an adult. A co-production of American Documentary | POV, ITVS and Kartemquin Films. A co-presentation with the Center for Asian American Media (CAAM). Nominated for Best Documentary Feature for the 91st Academy Awards (2019).